Above the Ether ePUB ✓ Above the eBook Æ ñ eBook franzbielmeier.de

➳ [Reading] ➶ Above the Ether By Eric Barnes ➩ – Franzbielmeier.de Here is a mesmerizing novel of unfolding dystopia amid the effects of climate change in a world very like our own for readers of Emily St John Mandel's Station Eleven and Margaret Atwood's The Year ofHere is a mesmerizing novel of unfolding dystopia amid the effects of climate change in a world very like our own for readers of Emily St John Mandel's Station Eleven and Margaret Atwood's The Year of the FloodIn this preuel to Eric Barnes's acclaimed cli fi novel The City Where We Once Lived six sets of characters move through a landscape and a country just beginning to show the signs of cataclysmic changeA father and his young children fleeing a tsunami after a massive earthuake in the Gulf A woman and her husba.

Nd punishing themselves without relent for the loss of both their sons to addiction while wildfires slowly burn closer to their family home A brilliant investor assessing opportunity in the risk to crops homes cities industries and infrastructure working in the silent comfort of her office sixty floors up in the scorching air A doctor and his wife stuck in a refugee camp for immigrants somewhere in a southern desert Two young men working the rides for a roadside carnival one escaping a brutal past the other a raci.

above mobile ether book Above the mobile Above the Ether MOBINd punishing themselves without relent for the loss of both their sons to addiction while wildfires slowly burn closer to their family home A brilliant investor assessing opportunity in the risk to crops homes cities industries and infrastructure working in the silent comfort of her office sixty floors up in the scorching air A doctor and his wife stuck in a refugee camp for immigrants somewhere in a southern desert Two young men working the rides for a roadside carnival one escaping a brutal past the other a raci.

Above the Ether ePUB ✓ Above the  eBook Æ ñ eBook franzbielmeier.de

Above the Ether ePUB ✓ Above the eBook Æ ñ eBook franzbielmeier.de Eric Barnes is writer of the novels Above the Ether Arcade Publishing The City Where We Once Lived Arcade Publishing Something Pretty Something Beautiful Outpost19 and Shimmer Unbridled Books an IndieNext Pick Emily St John Mandel author of STATION ELEVEN said about The City Where We Once Lived “Barnes's new novel is a rare and truly original work a hard edged fable tender and u

10 thoughts on “Above the Ether

  1. Erin Erin says:

    Above the Ether ePUB ✓ Above the eBook Æ ñ eBook franzbielmeier.de above mobile, ether book, Above the mobile, Above the Ether MOBII received this book through Goodreads First ReadsThis book reminded me a lot of The Road with the nameless characters and locations However the structure worked for that book I'm not so sure it worked as well with this one One of my favorite genres is dystopianpost apocalyptic so I was really excited that I had the opportunity to read Above the Ether However I was a bit disappointed with how everything came together Yes there is some sort of tie in with all the characters by the end of the book but it's a long confusing time to get there


  2. Robyn Robyn says:

    Above the Ether ePUB ✓ Above the eBook Æ ñ eBook franzbielmeier.de above mobile, ether book, Above the mobile, Above the Ether MOBIThere are so many things I want to relay about Above the Ether by Eric Barnes that I am not uite sure I can give this book the justice it deserves Set in the near future we are thrust into the lives of ordinary everyday people faced with a ravaging earth There are some characters I can sympathize with while others not so much A father tries to protect his children from the floods as they abandon their home looking for safety A married couple suffering the devastating loss of both of their sons while the landscape around them burns A carousel worker suffering through his own loss and feels so alone A trader who makes money over the suffering of others These are just some of the characters explored in an ever changing worldEric Barnes has created an atmospheric and shocking story that even though is fiction and years ahead of us it is also uite relevant in


  3. Tracy Tracy says:

    Above the Ether ePUB ✓ Above the eBook Æ ñ eBook franzbielmeier.de above mobile, ether book, Above the mobile, Above the Ether MOBIAt once achingly beautiful and terribly sad


  4. Bandit Bandit says:

    Above the Ether ePUB ✓ Above the eBook Æ ñ eBook franzbielmeier.de above mobile, ether book, Above the mobile, Above the Ether MOBII enjoy dystopian genre all these different ways to end the world as we know it Climate is one way to go Popular enough to command its own subgenre climate related science fiction can be very compelling possibly because it’s so tragically realistic In this book the global warming is very real and it is devastating Wild fires raising waters albeit not in a geographical proximity that would have been a practical solution to both tsunamis earthuakes storms and so on There is a city nameless as all things are in this book that is separated into a distinct North and South end one inhabitable one abandoned But people survivelike they tend to And it is their journeys through this scarred new world that comprise this novel The book is made up of separate occasionally intersecting narratives following different survivors and their stories All of them are nameless but nevertheless distinct and compelling Although the lack of names does contribute to a general distance i


  5. Anissa Anissa says:

    Above the Ether ePUB ✓ Above the eBook Æ ñ eBook franzbielmeier.de above mobile, ether book, Above the mobile, Above the Ether MOBITo say that I'm a climate fiction fan never sounds uite right to me because they're usually disastrous human extinction events that completely untether modern civilizations and I find them fairly terrifying but I am drawn to them So when I saw this I knew I needed to read it I have to admit that it was actually hard to read uickly because it was so vivid even though the prose was stark I'd never have expected that dandelions could be expressed as something so suffocating and relentless I needed to put this down a few times bu


  6. Tonstant Weader Tonstant Weader says:

    Above the Ether ePUB ✓ Above the eBook Æ ñ eBook franzbielmeier.de above mobile, ether book, Above the mobile, Above the Ether MOBIAbove the Ether takes place the day after tomorrow or so it seems An earthuake in the gulf at the same time as a hurricane creates an epic wave that devours the gulf coast Never ending fires render communities unlivable Drought devastates farmland Dandelions and mollusks and nature in general seems to have run amok Eric Barnes describes a dystopic future that is only a tick of the clock from our present a future where the climate catastrophe we have done little to avoid arrives And yet Barnes does not use the word climate once This is not a polemic this is a storyAbove the Ether follows six narratives a father and his kids fleeing the gulf a husband and wife seeking their runaway son a callous investor checking out the potential for disaster dividends refugees finally getting their release from a border detention facility carnival workers wo


  7. Zeb Kantrowitz Zeb Kantrowitz says:

    Above the Ether ePUB ✓ Above the eBook Æ ñ eBook franzbielmeier.de above mobile, ether book, Above the mobile, Above the Ether MOBIthis is a non formatted book that jumps from part of one story to another while there is no connection until the end of the story if then this is a world that has been destroyed by the deterioration of 'the city' because of the lack of jobs and the loss of production and repairs public works were delayed as the roads bridgeslevees and canals began falling apartBarnes inflicts his people with some bizarre ecological disasters such as when one city is swallowed up by dandelions but after reading how many of the characters came to be on the road they are all stuck on a highway that is below sea level When they are caught


  8. Claire Claire says:

    Above the Ether ePUB ✓ Above the eBook Æ ñ eBook franzbielmeier.de above mobile, ether book, Above the mobile, Above the Ether MOBIbeautiful lyrical painful savage I loved this book and couldn't tear myself away from it But it's all too real


  9. Laura Laura says:

    Above the Ether ePUB ✓ Above the eBook Æ ñ eBook franzbielmeier.de above mobile, ether book, Above the mobile, Above the Ether MOBIThank you to Eric Barnes and Arcade for a copy of Above the Ether which I won in a Goodreads giveaway This is a dystopian novel set in our near future In it our Earth is so polluted and changed through global warming that the weather has become deadly and unpredictable Different characters all unamed travel across country This novel


  10. Lori L (She Treads Softly) Lori L (She Treads Softly) says:

    Above the Ether ePUB ✓ Above the eBook Æ ñ eBook franzbielmeier.de above mobile, ether book, Above the mobile, Above the Ether MOBIAbove the Ether by Eric Barnes is a highly recommended preuel to his climate change science fiction novel The City Where We Once LivedThe stories of six sets of vastly different characters are told in short vignettes set in the climate changed world Barnes first created in The City Where We Once Lived The weather patterns are unpredictable and violent while the ground is poisoned and the government is unable to provide any assistance This novel covers the ch


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *